Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited secured approval from the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs on October 14, 2026, to acquire a 60.72 percent stake in IDBI Bank Limited for 52,878.08 crore rupees. The Government of India and Life Insurance Corporation of India agreed to sell the controlling interest, completing a long-delayed state divestment objective. The agreement transfers management control and prices the lender at 81.00 rupees per share, according to a Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited press release issued the same day.
The transaction confirms the appetite of foreign financial sponsors for distressed-turned-viable Indian credit institutions. IDBI Bank Limited cleared its burden of legacy non-performing assets following earlier state interventions and capital injections from Life Insurance Corporation of India. The privatisation transfers operational control to a foreign entity with existing domestic banking interests, establishing a template for future state divestments in the financial sector. Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited must now integrate a large domestic workforce while managing strict regulatory oversight from the central bank.
Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited intends to retain Rakesh Sharma as managing director and chief executive officer of IDBI Bank Limited. The buyer also plans to inject its existing holdings in Go Digit Insurance and IIFL Capital Services into the banking entity, according to the Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited press release on October 14, 2026. This operational integration faces immediate Reserve Bank of India cross-holding regulations. Those rules require Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited to merge its 40 percent stake in CSB Bank with IDBI Bank Limited or divest it within 24 months, The Tribune reported on October 14, 2026.
Deal terms at a glance
| Parties | Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited (buyer); Government of India and Life Insurance Corporation of India (sellers) |
| Price | 81.00 rupees per share |
| Implied equity value | 87,083 crore rupees |
| Implied enterprise value | Not disclosed |
| Consideration | 52,878.08 crore rupees |
| Premium | 23 percent over book value as of June 30, 2026 |
| Financing | Internal cash, existing credit sources, asset monetizations |
| Conditions | Reserve Bank of India clearance, Securities and Exchange Board of India approval |
| Expected timetable | Definitive agreement by December 2026, closing by March 31, 2027 |
Advisers
The Department of Investment and Public Asset Management appointed KPMG India Private Limited as transaction adviser for the sale. The department selected Link Legal as legal adviser, according to the preliminary information memorandum published on October 7, 2022, and a Business Standard report on August 27, 2021. Financial and legal advisers to Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited are not disclosed.
How the deal came about
The Government of India established the Industrial Development Bank of India in 1964 to provide long-term financing to domestic industries. The institution transitioned into a commercial banking entity in 2004, expanding into retail banking and deposits. IDBI Bank Limited later accumulated substantial non-performing assets during a broader corporate bad-loan crisis. The Reserve Bank of India implemented an asset-quality review that forced the recognition of stressed loans, pushing IDBI Bank Limited into severe financial distress.
The bank faced scrutiny over lending decisions, including loans granted to businessman Vijay Mallya for Kingfisher Airlines. Life Insurance Corporation of India intervened in 2019, acquiring a controlling stake through a capital infusion designed to stabilise the balance sheet. The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs approved the strategic disinvestment of IDBI Bank Limited in May 2021, authorising the transfer of management control.
An initial bidding process failed in March 2026. Bidders submitted offers below the government’s reserve benchmark of 94.42 rupees per share, prompting the government to scrap the round, The Economic Times reported on October 14, 2026. For the second round, five entities submitted expressions of interest. Four met pre-qualification criteria, and two submitted final techno-financial bids, according to The Hindu on October 14, 2026. Emirates NBD evaluated the asset in earlier stages, according to The Times of India on October 15, 2026. The specific identity and price offer of the second finalist bidder are not disclosed. Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited emerged as the winning bidder through its wholly owned subsidiary, 10955230 Canada Inc.
Valuation and comparables
Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited offered 81.00 rupees per share for the controlling stake. Two independent valuation agencies established an average benchmark of 75.99 rupees per share for the second bidding round. The final offer exceeded this benchmark by 6.6 percent, according to The Economic Times on October 14, 2026.
The purchase price represents a 23 percent premium to the book value of IDBI Bank Limited as of June 30, 2026, calculated under Indian Accounting Standards, according to a Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited press release on October 14, 2026. This implies a price-to-book multiple of 1.5 times to 1.6 times, as noted by The Economic Times on October 14, 2026. The 81.00 rupees per share offer came at a discount to the pre-announcement open market price. The stock closed at 90.39 rupees on the National Stock Exchange of India, according to India Infoline on October 14, 2026. The stock closed at 90.44 rupees on the BSE Limited, according to Dow Jones Newswires on October 14, 2026. The offer price constitutes an approximate 10.4 percent to 11.0 percent discount to these market closes. Comparable private equity acquisitions of Indian state-owned banks are not available, as this transaction is the first of its kind in the domestic market.
Financing and structure
Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited will fund the acquisition through a combination of internal cash, existing credit sources, and potential asset monetizations, according to a GlobeNewswire release from the company on October 14, 2026. The exact sizes of debt facilities and the composition of banking syndicates are not disclosed.
The Government of India is divesting a 30.48 percent stake, generating over 26,000 crore rupees in proceeds, according to Mint on October 14, 2026. Life Insurance Corporation of India is selling a 30.24 percent stake. Following the close, the Government of India will retain 15.00 percent of the bank, while Life Insurance Corporation of India will hold 19.00 percent, according to The Economic Times on October 14, 2026. Nominee directors representing the Government of India and Life Insurance Corporation of India will resign from the board upon the transfer of management control, according to Kotak Neo on October 14, 2026.
Risks, conditions and key dates
- October 14, 2026: The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs approved the strategic restructuring and stake sale.
- December 2026: The parties target the execution of a definitive share purchase agreement, according to The New Indian Express on October 14, 2026.
- March 31, 2027: The parties target full transaction close before the end of the fiscal year, according to the Press Trust of India on October 14, 2026.
- Pending: Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited must launch a mandatory open offer for up to 26 percent of shares held by public shareholders, unless the Securities and Exchange Board of India grants an exemption, according to The Times of India on October 15, 2026.
- Pending: The transaction requires formal clearance from the Reserve Bank of India under its “fit and proper” criteria, according to The Economic Times on October 14, 2026.
- Post-close requirement: Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited must progressively dilute its stake to 26 percent within 15 years, subject to an initial five-year lock-in period, according to The Financial Express on October 14, 2026.
- Post-close requirement: Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited must merge its CSB Bank holding with IDBI Bank Limited or divest the CSB Bank shares within 24 months, according to The Tribune on October 14, 2026.
- Post-close requirement: Life Insurance Corporation of India must reduce its residual 19 percent stake to 15 percent within two years, according to The Times of India on October 15, 2026.
- Post-close requirement: The buyer must maintain the IDBI Bank Limited name and brand, according to The Financial Express on October 14, 2026.
Where reports disagree
Financial publications and official statements differ on the exact rupee consideration and its foreign currency equivalent. Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited and Mint reported the total consideration as 52,878.08 crore rupees on October 14, 2026. Official government releases and the Press Trust of India cited a slightly lower figure of 52,877.07 crore rupees on October 14, 2026.
Calculations of the United States dollar value also vary. Dow Jones Newswires and Morningstar reported the deal value as $5.43 billion on October 14, 2026. Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited stated the value as $5.6 billion in its October 14, 2026 press release. BNN Bloomberg converted the transaction size to 7.9 billion Canadian dollars on October 14, 2026.
Sources
Company and regulator filings
- Fairfax Financial, Fairfax declared strategic buyer in auction to acquire interest in IDBI Bank plans to contribute Digit Insurance and IIFL Capital to IDBI Bank
- GlobeNewswire, Fairfax declared strategic buyer in auction to acquire interest in IDBI Bank plans to contribute Digit Insurance and IIFL Capital to IDBI Bank
Press and analysis
- The Hindu, Cabinet approves Fairfaxs 52878 cr bid for IDBI Bank largest FDI ever in Indias financial sector
- Fortune India, Meet Prem Watsa the India born Fairfax Financial CEO set to take control of IDBI Bank
- Mint, Fairfax IDBI Bank stake sale deal Prem Watsa
- The Economic Times, Cabinet approves IDBI Bank sale to Fairfax arm in Indias largest financial sector FDI
- Morningstar, Fairfax Financial buying majority stake in Indias IDBI Bank
- BNN Bloomberg, Fairfax Financial buying majority stake in Indias IDBI Bank for 79 billion
- The Economic Times, Fairfaxs IDBI deal premium justified by strategic fit scale analysts
- Business Standard, KPMG to assist government in strategic divestment of IDBI Bank for Rs 1
- The Times of India, Rs 53k crore IDBI stake sale with LIC takes govt past selloff target
- The Financial Express, Fairfax snaps up IDBI Bank
- The Tribune, Cabinet approves Fairfaxs Rs 52878 crore bid for IDBI Bank largest FDI ever in Indias financial sector
- The New Indian Express, IDBI Bank sale may push disinvestment proceeds past Rs 1 lakh crore
Facts as of 15 October 2026.

